My Next Adventure: TEACHING!

Like most college students, I changed my major after my freshman year. I switched from Music Education to Music Performace, and I can vividly remember the conversation I had with Dr. Bigley about the decision. Well. Not really that vividly, it was 10 years ago. But I do remember the concluding sentence. He told me,

“Betty,  it doesn’t really matter what you choose. If God wants you to teach, he will have you teach. And if God wants you to perform–it doesn’t matter what your degree says-you’ll perform.” 

Now, here we are a decade later, and I am fulfilling that very “prophesy”. I don’t have a degree in Education (I wish!), and I don’t have any real classroom experience, but God has wonderfully, graciously, and randomly made a way for me to be a teacher.

Image result for east hill christian school

On Monday, I start teaching fulltime at East Hill Christian School! I am a 6th grade Science, Math, and (my favorite subject) Bible teacher and I am pumped! Oh, and terrified. I am very aware of my lack of knowledge when it comes to classroom management, lesson plannings, and let’s be real-6th-grade science.

But, depending wholeheartedly on the Holy Spirit, I am going to joyfully, humbly, and creatively teach my 6th graders. And by teach, I mean guide, learn from, love, encourage, challenge, pray for, evaluate, and disciple the dear students God brings my way.  I am excited to learn from other teachers,  learn from my many mistakes, and grow in knowing how to best guide young people to understand and treasure truth and intellect. I am very passionate about Christian education and cannot wait to interweave the character of God into our lessons to help cultivate children who delight in their Creator.

I am very grateful to God for giving me this opportunity, and as aforementioned, completely dependent on Him to use me and teach me to be a master teacher! And from y’all I welcome any resources/tips/words of wisdom/encouragement/etc. that you may have for me!

As always, thanks for taking the time to read and hear my heart!

Much Love!

Mrs. Bacon 🙂

 

Education is the Most Powerful Weapon by Nelson Mandela - 8 1/2 x 11 art print signed by Aimee Ferre

 

Checking off the standards you've taught becomes the focus, but the reality is that this quote perfectly describes our true purpose as teachers.

 

My teacher thought I was smarter than I was - so I was.

You teach what you know,  but you reproduce what you are.  -- Howard Hendricks pic.twitter.com/oNRVmS2qOr

#StaffroomEducation #Education #Teacher #Teaching #Pupil #Student #Quote #Saturday #Wales #UK #Cardiff #School

Principles and Benefits of a Classical Education

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!