How I Work Through a Psalm

Do you ever wake up, and just NEED to read a psalm? I felt that way this morning. I have a few “go to” ones-and among my favorites is Psalm 62.

I don’t know about you, but I often feel like I am in a season of waiting for something. Waiting for God to show me the next step, waiting for a diagnosis, waiting for an answer- trying to peacefully and joyfully wait on God’s perfect timing for something. So, I love the truths found in this particular Psalm.

To give you a glimpse into how I spend my time in the Word, I tried to “mark up” the below digital version the same I would mark up the paper version. Typically, after reading the chapter, I go through and journal about 1.) what the passage tells me about WHO God is, and 2.) what difference the passage should make in my life. Then I try to pray through the passage and my observations-praising God for his attributes I see on display in the chapter, and praying for what was revealed about my need for change.

So let’s have a look!

Psalm 62-English Standard Version (ESV)

My Soul Waits for God Alone

To the choirmaster: according to Jeduthun. A Psalm of David.

62 For God alone my soul waits in silence;
    from him comes my salvation. ❤ 
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.

How long will all of you attack a man
    to batter him,
    like a leaning wall, a tottering fence?
They only plan to thrust him down from his high position.
    They take pleasure in falsehood.
They bless with their mouths,
    but inwardly they curse. Selah

For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence,
    for my hope is from him.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall not be shaken. !!!
On God rests my salvation and my glory; ❤
    my mighty rock, my refuge is God. ❤

Trust in him at all times, O people;
    pour out your heart before him;
    God is a refuge for us. Selah

Those of low estate are but a breath;
    those of high estate are a delusion;
in the balances they go up;
    they are together lighter than a breath.
10 Put no trust in extortion;
    set no vain hopes on robbery;
    if riches increase, set not your heart on them.

11 Once God has spoken;
    twice have I heard this:
that power belongs to God,
12     and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love.
For you will render to a man
    according to his work. (faith)

Again, when I finish reading I write down what the Psalm tells me about God and about mankind/me. Here is what I saw:

  • My “waiting” is not for OTHER people or things…I’m actually waiting on God’s perfect timing to orchestrate the next thing-a reminder of his sovereignty (v.1, 5)
  • He is my rock- he is the stable, immovable, foundation for all things-including my life, he never changes (v. 2,6)
  • He is my salvation-it’s only by his grace that I am his–and this is the biggest gift of all (v. 2,6)
  • He is my fortress-he protects me from EVERYTHING he wants me to not have in my life, and allows only what he knows is best for me (v. 2,6)
  • He is my only hope-he is the only one who can do anything about anything-and he will do what is perfect (v. 5)
  • I shall not be shaken-knowing these truths gives me an otherworldly sort of peace and confidence no matter what comes my way (v. 6)
  • I can trust him with ANYTHING and EVERYTHING (v. 8)
  • He wants me to pour out my cares, concerns, heartache, fears, worries, joys, blessings, gratitudes–everything to him through prayer (v. 8)
  • I shouldn’t set my heart on anything temporary, anything of this world (v. 10)
  • God is all-powerful. That means there is nothing he can’t do, and if he chooses not to do something-then that is best, because I know that he is also trustworthy and good (v.11)
  • God’s love is steady, consistent, and unconditional (v.12)

And then I’ll pray through these things! 🙂 That usually takes up my time in the morning, and I don’t often get through more than a chapter (unless I’m in genealogies–then I’m FLYING ;)) Let me know if you have any follow up questions about this simple routine!

Blessings on your day!

Love ,

Betty

2 thoughts on “How I Work Through a Psalm

  1. Hi Betty,
    I love the fact that you write down your thoughts after reading a Psalm, and then pray through them. I’m inspired to try to incorporate this into my quiet time. 🙂
    Perhaps the writing element is also an effective way to remember Scripture passages? Your views?

    • Lightalways- thank you!! I think that it would certainly be helpful in remembering Scriptural passages as well! I try and always write down the outline of the book to remember the flow! 🙂 Blessings!

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

