Feel Like Cheating On Him?

I was walking down Queen street in Downtown Lancaster last Friday after attending a conference for work. It was a perfect day for a stroll, and I did so with a bounce in my step in my cute blue dress and spunky flats. I passed a gathering of three edgy hipster friends-2 girls and a guy-all with tattoos and piercings. Just as I passed them the male in the squad said “Have an amazing day!” I stopped. Pivoted around to the group, pointed at him smiled, and said “You do the same.” and continued on my way. A few yards later I heard a voice behind me saying something I couldn’t make out. Then I heard “Beautiful!” and didn’t turn because HOW AWKWARD if it’s not to me, but then heard “Hey beautiful!” Another time, but this time closer and the sound of someone coming near. I turned. It was the well-wishing tattooed guy, and he said, “You got a boyfriend?”. The way my eyes lit up and my smile burst onto my face spoke for itself–but I reiterated with the words, “I sure do”. He said, “You feel like cheating on him?”

(PUKE)

I kept my smile bright and just said “No, I’m one of those people really into the whole “faithfulness” thing”.

Our interaction lasted maybe 45 seconds more, as he told me he found out his fiance had just cheated on him, and I tried my best to encourage him and bounce. Retrospectively, I wish I would’ve told him about Jesus-but I was so caught off guard by his request I was only looking for an escape.

It made me re-think a thought I’ve had many times over the last couple of year of my adult life:

Cheating is easy.

Now, that sounds weird. It even feels weird to type and to read. Cheating isn’t easy! I’ve never cheated on anyone before, it seems like it would require so much turmoil and difficulty. It sounds like it would eat away at your soul, and naw at your nerves. It sounds AWFUL and difficult.

Well yes, of course. But also, in this fallen world it will always be an option, an opportunity. That’s what I mean. I’m 27, and not that good looking. I mean-I’m pretty, but I ain’t no movie star or model. I’m pretty average looking. I’m kind and make an effort to be modest and try to be a woman obsessed with God, am dating-and still I have men “come onto me”. And I don’t know for sure-but probably there will always be men that show me attention. Always be men that tell me I’m pretty and encourage my smile. There will always be men that pull me in for a hug a little longer and a little closer. Who text me a little more often with a few more emojis. I’ll always have the option to be unfaithful. In thought or in deed. In small ways or in big ways.

This is a broken world–rampant with opportunities to sin. So we look to 1 Peter 5:8:

We know that Satan would love to destroy our ministries and reputations, and a slow fade in this area is one of his favorite tricks. We always have to be on guard: guard our hearts, our minds, and our actions. Always have to be above reproach, cautious, and staying far away from enjoying someone else’s attention or company more than our spouse’s. Faithfulness is a rare thing in our culture today, and we need to guard it like the precious jewel that it is.  Who cares if people get offended by our boundaries?? Be super alert and cautious now, so that we’re super alert and cautious 25 years from now as well: so that He is seen as BEAUTIFUL in our lives. ❤

Soli Deo Gloria!

Love,

Betty

 

 

2 thoughts on “Feel Like Cheating On Him?

  1. I’m not in a relationship for now but like you I’m all about being faithful to that one person!! But I love everything you’ve written its interesting and inspirational …..new fan!!!
    ✌💜✌

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

