How Did Your College Education Shape You?

I have a Bachelors in Biblical Studies, a Bachelors in Music Performance, and a Masters in Leadership from Lancaster Bible College & Capital Bible Seminary. I now work at The Factory Ministries in Paradise, PA as the Youth Center Director—working mostly with teenagers in poverty to introduce them to Christ and help equip them to lead healthy lives. 

In some ways, my time and major at LBC did not “prepare” me for my responsibilities as a Youth Center Director. My studies did not teach me how to budget for events, or how to respond to suicidal students, or how to recruit committed volunteers. Fortunately, my education experience at LBC was so much more than information, content, and job prep. 

My time at LBC instilled in me a love for learning, showed me the value of introspection, and cultivated my love for knowing God.  My time at LBC inspired a love for ministry, molded my work-ethic, and gave me the opportunity to be invested in by amazing, godly men & women. My time at LBC rooted my faith in understanding and discipline, and sparked a desire and confidence to share the good news of the Gospel with anyone who will listen! These passions, values, and skills have been imperative to my work at the Youth Center. 

My ministry at the Factory Youth Center is so wonderfully centered on building relationships. I have the privilege of investing in relationships with the teens that come to the Youth Center, with my team of volunteers, with teachers and administration in our school district, as well as with local church and business leaders. We believe that all significant life change happens through significant relationships, and that the gospel travels best over bridges of relationships. I see that very truth modeled in my own life through my experience at Lancaster Bible College. My moments of significant life change didn’t occur during programs or events. The lessons I cling closest to today aren’t because of their astounding content. When I really reflect on who I am today, and how I do ministry–it’s greatly because of the people, the relationships I formed during my years at Lancaster Bible College. 

I am the woman, and therefore the ministry leader I am today because of Dr. Teague’s humility, Dr. Bigley’s kindness, Dr. Soden’s brilliance, Dr.Sidebothum’s tenderness, Amy’s friendship, Emerld’s prayers, Josh’s passion, Kim’s accountability, Mandi’s encouragement, Timmy’s example, Kristen’s steadfastness, Jess’s patience, Carrissa’s thoughtfulness, and Judy’s support-just to name a few. My time at Lancaster Bible College-through education and relationships-shaped who I am, how I think, and what I value. I am beyond thankful to be the Youth Center Director at The Factory Ministries, and beyond thankful that God used my time at Lancaster Bible College to prepare me to do the work He has for me there.

grad

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

