A New Adventure: Cross Country Coaching

My heart is incredibly full right now. And much of that is due to the fact that it is preseason, and God has given me the awesome privilege of being the Assistant Coach for Lancaster Bible College’s Men’s and Women’s Cross Country teams.

I love running. I get giddy when my Runner’s World magazine comes in the mail. I try to convince all my friends to meet me to run together. I love waking up just before the sun to run in the cool, early mornings.

And I love Lancaster Bible College students. I look forward to filling my schedule with lunch appointments and coffee dates to hear about all that God is teaching them through class and chapels. Pride wells up in me throughout the school year as I watch them flourish in sports, music, and campus leadership. I love scrolling through social media and seeing their joy in their LBC experiences.

And God, in His perfect timing and grace, chose to unite both of those passions this season.

Charger Cross Country

I have the joy of working with a head coach who deeply loves the Lord, his family, running, and discipleship. Coach Hamm is knowledgeable, personable, and incredibly hard-working.

The runners are each a gift from God. Below are the notes I took during our brainstorming session earlier this week. These were their responses when asked, “What do you want Cross Country to be this year?”

Team Brainstorm 2015

They don’t want to complain, or compare themselves to others. They want to be known for their God honoring attitudes and work ethics. They want to represent Christ to the teams we compete against, and to each other at every practice and meet. They want to improve. To set goals. To see progess. To push themselves and each other in a healthy, encouraging way. They want to integrate glorifying God through our sport in everything, finding spiritual parallels everywhere they look. They want to be holisticaly healthy in their running, stretching, eating, and sleeping. They want to care for each other well, hold each accountable, and spend time together.

I am beyond excited for this season, and this team that God has brought together.

Soli Deo Gloria

Follow us on twitter? 🙂 https://twitter.com/LBCCrossCountry

LBCXC-Logo

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

