Sometimes Travel Can Be Frustrating…

Sometimes travel can be frustrating.  Wrong turns are taken, items needed are forgotten to pack, flights are delayed, and some airport employees exude misery.  To combat against allowing any of these things to “get me down” I decided to make a list of the top 10 positive parts of my traveling experience to Kentucky.

  1. I listened to an awesome sermon on Habakkuk 2 on my way to the airport! Very encouraging!
  2. My carry on and personal luggage were within the weight and size requirements
  3. I got in front of a HUGE school group in the security line and moved through quickly
  4. I ended up not having to take off my shoes or take out my laptop through security-went through the “speedy line”
  5. The lady beside me waiting to board offered to buy me a bottle of water when she bought her own (as long as I agreed to watch her bag…)
  6. I was able to write this blog!
  7. Then I SAT beside the woman who bought me water and we talked the ENTIRE flight about life lessons, spiritual beliefs, how to motivate others, and why yogurt makes her groin hurt…
  8. I got the whole can of cranberry juice instead of just the cup!
  9. During my layover I got chips and salsa from Chili’s-to-Go…a personal fave!
  10. When exiting the plane in Paducah, we walked outside (instead of getting hooked up at the gate, ya know?) and it was a beautiful night! (Plus for some reason I always feel like the President when I walk down steps off an airplane…maybe that’s just me!)

So there you have it, folks-my top ten! So even though I got five “Flight Delay Notifications” and forgot to pack toothpaste and accidentally tried to park in airport employee parking lot when looking for Long Term B parking lot…there are still so many other things to concentrate on and be thankful for. I want to be a person who is not easily flustered and who can find joy in the everyday! Every experience is a gift from God that he is TOTALLY SOVEREIGN OVER, so let’s find reasons to thank him for them. Try and make this a habit in your life to aid in your sanctification. Especially if you know you will be tempted be annoyed/irritated/flustered. 

And as a side note from that, this won’t always work. I know my happiness can be taken from me in a moment, but joy, true joy from the Lord, is something deeply embedded into a believer that can never be taken away.  So even when I can’t think of ONE positive thing, not to mention ten, I have a trump card that has written on it the name of Jesus. 

 

“Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy,  for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” 1 Peter 1:8-9

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

