Pray For Me This Weekend?

So I started writing in this blog a little over  a year ago. Hardly any one read it. Maybe my dad and one or two people from my church. Maybe. But then, all of a sudden, there was this one follower, a stranger, out of the blue, who started liking all my posts.

Her name was Sophie.

And not only did she like them (even spam bots can do that!) but she also would comment sweet, encouraging, things on each of them! She would tell me specific phrases she loved, and specific encouragement it brought her. Let me tell you, I am pretty sure I would not still be blogging today if it wasn’t for the encouragement of Sophie McDonald.

Well naturally, I started snooping around her (incredible!) websites and found out that we were soul sisters. So many of our heartbeats echoed one another, and from there our mutually encouraging internet friendship blossomed.

Strangely enough we both happened to sign up and attend a missions conference in Kentucky at the beginning of this year! (And of course, by “happened to” I really mean “wonderfully-perfectly-sovereignly-planned-and-ordained-by-God”.) And we were able to meet up for coffee and share even more of our kindred hearts!

Sophie is gifted at and passionate about many things-and one of them is disciplining and investing in the lives of young girls to help show them what godly femininity is and how to find their identity in the glorious gospel of Jesus Christ. When we met, she asked me if I would partner with her in this missions, and speak at her first True Beauty Conference in her hometown of Paducah, Kentucky.

Long story short, God has been magnificently gracious and at work in every inch of this conference and I’m flying out tomorrow to meet Sophie once again for us to co-labor with a few other sisters, for the souls of 200 women, from 5th to 12 grade girls, their moms and church leaders.

So I covet your prayers. For the speakers, for the logistics, for the nerves, for the travels, for the attenders, for the hearts, for the minds, and most importantly for the gospel to be seen as beautiful and glorious, all-sufficient and all encompassing, and for every woman to walk away from this conference longing to know, love, and be more like Jesus Christ.  Soli Deo Gloria.

12 thoughts on “Pray For Me This Weekend?

    • Thanks Jess! It is really exciting to see it being ALL God. Sometimes I can fool myself into thinking that somehow I’m in charge, and I make things happen. Puny, little me! Weird, hu? I look forward to being able to boast in God’s work this weekend too! Thanks for your words! Maybe we can have another coffee date soon!

  1. Betty you are truly an inspiration to anyone that you meet. You have the spiritual gift inside you that just radiates to everyone around you. Keep your work going as it makes a difference to the people you meet and your brightness shines through. God has truly given you a gift keep using it. Love and Miss you!

  2. I know what you mean when you think “Am I making a difference”. I have dealt with it too. I don’t know what God has in store for you, blogging or not blogging, but we do have a promise that God’s word will not return unto him void. If you post God’s word, His written love to the world, your effort will make a difference.
    A Servant

  3. Betty,
    It has been a privilege to witness God using your ministry as an instrument for the propagation of the gospel and the bolstering of the Kingdom. I am particularly impressed by your ability to couple the unadulterated piercing truth of the Word of God with a ginger and whimsical grace. As a writer, your blogs make me stumble in covetousness to write like you. As a brother, in thanks to this blog, I rejoice to know there are women (and men) declaring war on sin and counseling taking place modeling Titus 2:3-4.

    • Wow. Sam. Your words are too kind! That’s funny, because I often stumble in covetousness over the deep intellect the Lord has given others (including you!) to understand and articulate truths too complex for my little mind! Yet another reason the body of Christ is so beautiful.:) Thank you so much for your encouragement, it truly means a lot!

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

