Practice Sharing the Gospel!

I am the Teaching Assistant for a Public Speaking class at Lancaster Bible College, and I love it! One of the things I appreciate most about it is that it is taught through a biblical worldview. We are training and working hard to speak well, not so that we can be well liked, successful, or just to pass a class-but because we as believers want to be articulate and confident in communicating truths to people.

The gospel is the MOST important thing we will ever say or share. I encourage my students to practice their graded speeches beforehand because it helps with nerves, flow of thought, and dramatically increases the effectiveness of their presentation.  Why would we not practice sharing the gospel?! I told my class that it should come so naturally to them that I should be able to sneak into their dorm rooms in the middle of the night, shine a flashlight in the face, and say, “Tell me the gospel!” and they should be able to do it!

After assuring them that I won’t actually do that, I explained how I am incorporating a new game into class whenever we end early or have “down time”. Right now I just call it “Gospel Dice”, but if you can think of a better, more creative name-please let me know in the comments below!

Anyway, it’s simple-I choose a student at random and they roll the die, whImageatever number they land on is the amount of minutes they have to share the gospel! They tell us who their target audience will be (i.e. Children, Atheists, Hindus, Family, Amish, etc.) and we start the timer; they don’t stop until their minute/minutes are up!

I know you are not in my Public Speaking class, but I encourage you to try this sort of thing too! Maybe next time you pop something in the microwave for three minutes, practice sharing the gospel during that time. Or if you’ve got a commute to work, instead of jamming to the radio, turn off the music and thing about how to explain the gospel to someone who doesn’t believe in the inerrancy of the Bible, or the deity of Christ. With your best friend, take turns practicing at a local coffee shop, asking each other questions when you use confusing jargon. It’s the most important thing you’ll ever say-why not practice?

Feel free to comment below with any thoughts/experiences you have with this sort of thing!

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

