When God Doesn’t Intervene

Here is where I have landed today.

God is not going to rescue you out of a painful circumstance before His work is done in it. It is his grace that keeps us there. If He were to supernaturally intervene the first time we prayed, “Lord take this from me” we would never learn the lessons that we so desperately need to learn. Our faith would not be strengthened. Our hearts would not be transformed. The pain would serve no purposes.

I want to be out of this.

I want to be done with it.

I want this season of suffering to be finished.

But God-in his infinite wisdom has a purpose to fulfill, a plan to reveal, and a truth to convey-and He is not going to rob me of that glorious lesson by allowing me to circumvent all uncomfortably in my life. He is not going to stop halfway through the surgery of reconstructing my heart because He sees tears in my eyes. He knows what I need. He knows how long I need it. And He is willing to see me hurt and hear my cries for my greater good.

This time-a season of sadness- is precious. I hate it, but it is precious. It is a time for me and my Savior. For Him to be the only thing I cling to, to be my ultimate comfort, for me to seek to understand Him better, and for Him to reveal so much to me.

Though I daily pray for God to intervene, I cling to the truth that each day he answers “not yet” is a gift from Him. I hope you also are reminded that each “keep waiting” is said, only because He has something more glorious and more beautiful to do in us before He intervenes and allows this season to come to an end.

Isaiah 55: 8-9

8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.

 

Philippians 1:6

6 And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

5 thoughts on “When God Doesn’t Intervene

  1. I love how you so beautifully express your heart in words. Thanks for sharing, dear one. 🙂 Reading this reminded me of Elisabeth Elliot’s quote: Lord, take away my longing or give me what I long for. The Lord answered, “I must teach you to long for something better.

    Praying for you!

  2. Several of your posts have been needed reminders for me Betty, this one included. Thanks for encouraging me and many others with truth from our Father.
    Hebrews 12:3-13

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

