How a Veggie Tales Flashback Saved My Evening

Image

I had worked late last Tuesday evening. No big deal; it was a good day-but I was tired and ready to head home. Though, as I drove I reflected on my past few “home cooked meals” I’ve made for myself:

  • Sunday afternoon: scrambled egg
  • Sunday Evening: Kraft Mac N Cheese
  • Monday Evening: Noodles with Ham and Apple Slices

This is no joke. Literally-that is what I had in my refrigerator and therefore, what I had for dinner.  So I decided it would be smart (nay, necessary!) to stop for groceries at the best food store on planet earth-SHARP SHOPPER.

For those of you who don’t know what Sharp Shopper is, let me explain to you by some of my most recent purchases:

  • 10 Blueberry Bagels for $1.59!
  • 15 Packets of Oatmeal (3 different flavors!) for A BUCK!
  • Okay, those are the only two things I can think of off the top of my head, but I wanted three bullet points to match the above bullet points, so…you get what I’m saying! It’s great!

 ANYWAY…so I am a shoppin’ a way- tomato sauce, eggs, yogurt-you know-essentials, and I start to see a series of happy couples. Hand in hand, some young, some old, each shopping for groceries for their lives together. Now, normally, this doesn’t bother me at all. Normally, I am able to rejoice with and for people who are happily paired with the love of their lives. But not this night. This night I was discontent and frustrated and lonely. This night I walked to my car with a heavy heart, sad that I was buying groceries only for me. 

And that’s when it hit me. Pulling out of the parking lot, from the far corners of my memory came I song I hadn’t sung for quite some time. The first time I heard it, it came from the mouth of a carrot…or maybe an asparagus, I can’t remember, but it was on the VHS of Madam Blueberry and it said this:

A thankful heart is a happy heart

I ‘m glad for what I have, that’s an easy way to start

For the love that He shares as He listens to my prayers,

That’s why I say thanks every day!

 I sang it a few times, and my heart lifted with each line. Silly as it may seem, that little diddy realigned my heart with God’s that evening. I spent the rest of the ride home thanking God for all the MANY blessings he HAS and IS giving me right now, and thanked Him for the greatest gift of all-my salvation. I thought of gift of grace, after gift of grace He has given me and turned my heart of discontentment into a heart of gratitude.

It’s so easy to look at what we don’t have, or what God isn’t doing-instead of being creatures of humility and thankfulness and seeing what He has given us and what He is doing-with a proper understanding that we deserve none of it!  A mentality of gratitude changed my evening from being one with a heavy heart, to one with a happy heart. God uses all sorts of things to bring us back to himself, even a little veggie tale song! And hey-that’s a good reason to say thanks every day!

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

