Thoughts on Mackelmore’s “Same Love”

macklemore_shrub

Though it might surprise, shock, or befuddle  you-I really like rap music. Now, not all rap of course-I don’t like anything degrading to women or void or morality or musicianship-but there is much Christian, and secular rap that I respect and enjoy. There are many intellectual modern theologians who can weave truths about the gospel and theology into rap songs and I love it! Mackelmore is a secular rap artists whose giftings are  easy to appreciate and enjoy in recent chart toppers such as “Thrift Shop” and “Can’t Hold Us”.  He seems to be a young man full of insight and talent, and in many ways I see him as the voice of our generation.

In his well-crafted single, “Same Love” Mackelmore has packed much truth into a 5 minute song. He rightfully condemns homophobia, hate, and oppression whilst promoting love, equality, and acceptance.  I will stand by him in telling Christians that we need to remember to love ALL people, as Christ does and I agree that “If you preach hate at the service those words aren’t anointed. That holy water that you soak in has been poisoned”. I wholeheartedly believe that we have “become so numb to what we’re saying” in matters of confronting sin. We need to remember the value that each human being has, and the respect that each human being created in God’s image deserves- especially in matters concerning our speech.

Unfortunately, there is much about “Same Love” that I disagree with as well.

First off, the very premise of the song is paradoxical in nature. The chorus is: I can’t change/even if I tried/even if I wanted to/I can’t change, yet the entire song is asking me, as a conservation evangelical Christian to change. Though I don’t think BEING homosexual is a decision, I DO believe living a homosexual lifestyle is a decision. You want me to change that. I do think it can be “cured” (I use that term loosely) by “religion” (again loosely) in the sense that the gospel changes your desires from sin to obedience when you get to know Christ. You want me to change that belief as well? I can’t change. Even if I tried. Even if  I wanted to.

Though I know many have been hurt by so called Christians manipulating and poorly representing Scripture. I and many of my other brothers and sister do NOT “paraphrase a book written thirty five-hundred years ago”. We CAN give you exact quotes from the New Testament that articulately and lovingly explain why we believe that God would call you to not act on your homosexual tendencies for His name’s sake.

Lastly, I cringed at the phrase, “Whatever God you believe in, We come from the same one”. How is that possible? Gods from each religion known to man have MINIMAL similarities at best, and MASSIVE essential, fundamental differences.  We all came from the same One, yes. But we all are not believing in the same one.

What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Mackelmore’s “Same Love”

  1. I love this post Betty. When I hear that song, it reminds me that some people are kleptomaniacs. Does that mean that they should just go on stealing, even though it’s wrong? Because they can’t change? No. They have to fight the sinful nature each and every day, just like everyone else, even if the psychological pull is stronger on them than others. This song makes me sad, and I will always have the nagging question of why God allows people to suffer through trials like these that will last a lifetime.

    • You are SO right Sara in saying how hard it is understanding such a heavy burden for people! I can’t imagine it! Though I am glad that we have strong, godly examples of men and women who have denied this desire for Christ’s sake (I’m specifically thinking of Henri Nouwen), and hope to hear of more.

  2. Hey Betty,
    Great post. I think Macklemore is a very gifted artist his diverse flow and unique lyrics make him a premier rapper in the game today. In this song Macklemore once again goes against the hip-hop grain by condemning homophobic tendencies. Although I appreciate the heart of his message I completely disagree with the chorus and agenda he does seem to be pushing. Love the sinner, but hate the sin is the way to go on this issue.

  3. Hi Betty, good, solid thoughts. Ultimately we do all come from the same God, as Mackemore rightly says, even of people don’t believe in Him. That’s actually the story of the Bible: The one true God created all people and holds all things together, but many do not acknowledge him – they suppress the truth in unrighteousness (Romans 1). What Macklemore fails to realize is that he too is suppressing the truth in unrighteousness.

    What has really happened in our day, which many Christians are slow on the uptake about, is that those pushing for the mainstream acceptance of homosexual behavior have tried to make it an identity issue rather than a behavioral issue. That is the very essence of what this song is about. Check out what I wrote about that topic over here: http://nickandrosemary.blogspot.com/2013/08/identity-issues.html

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

