What Did I Just Read?

“I study my Bible as I gather apples. First, I shake the whole tree that the ripest might fall. Then I shake each limb, and when I have shaken each limb, I shake each branch and every twig. Then I look under every leaf.”  Martin Luther

This analogy really struck me.

And by struck-I mean convicted.

There have been seasons of my life (and by seasons I mean long ones!) where I do NOT do a good job of seeking to know God in His word.
Those seasons, where the only time I get apples, is when I go to a church service and am literally HANDED ones already picked off the tree.

Seasons where I don’t feel like eating the whole apple once I get it down from the tree…so I peel off the bitter skin, eating only what is sweet and delicious inside.

Seasons where I don’t want to put too much effort into eating the apple – so I have someone make it into an applesauce for simplicities sake.

You know you’re a poor apple picker when you can say these things:

  • Sometimes I close my Bible at the end of my reading time, and I could not summarize what I just read. (Hence the title of my post!)
  • Sometimes I start reading a section of Scripture I just read the day before and don’t realize it until I’m half way through the next chapter.
  • Sometimes I have no idea what is going on in a passage (Old Testament, Romans, pick-your-poison) but I just keep reading…I’ll understand something soon enough!

Guilty on all accounts.

Oh to be like Luther.

To have that ferocious desire to (as much as humanly possible) truly and wholeheartedly understand every phrase God inspired to be written. To yearn for deep comprehension of who He is, and why He wrote, while not being satisfied with only getting the “big picture” or a “take away for the day.”

I don’t know about you guys, but I am going to pray for an increased delight in spending intimate time in Scripture to know our God better. I’m going to ask my pastor, or use the magical power of google, to help answer my questions when I don’t understand what God is saying about himself. I’m going to pray for an increased desire to understand what I am reading, and not to be satisfied in simply reading His words.

And I don’t have the gift of prophesy, but I am pretty sure amazing things are going to happen to all those who shake every branch and twig, and look under every leaf.

3 thoughts on “What Did I Just Read?

  1. I love the analogies that you create or expand on. I don’t have the gift of prophesy either, but I know that God’s Word is rich, and we’re promised blessing when we immerse ourselves in it whether it be encouragement of the push needed to continue on in a pursuit of surrender to him.

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

