Seek Righteousness, Find Satisfaction

 
I feel like I write a lot about satisfaction. I am not exactly sure why, it just seems to be a reoccurring theme in my life. I consistently try and find satisfaction in the fleeting “pleasures” of this world and am reminded time and time again that I feel most fulfilled, most content, and most joyful-when I am settled in the center of God’s will which is to be seeking, loving, and obeying him. C.S. Lewis says it well in, The Weight of Glory:

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a                                                        holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

I somehow convince myself that watching SNL reruns will be a more fulfilling addition to my laundry night than listening to a podcast. I persuade myself that listening to the ”hottest jams” on 95.9 to pump me up for a run, is more beneficial than serenading my soul with songs of spiritual substance. And I live with the lie that talking to myself instead of talking to God will do me any good at all. How quickly I forget the things that TRULY satisfy!  This morning I read Matthew 5:6: “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for RIGHTEOUSNESS, for they SHALL BE SATISFIED.” It is a great reminder of what I should be longing for (righteousness) and what its promised result is (satisfaction).  If you are looking for freedom from guilt-look to the cross. If you are looking for peace and hope for the future-look to the empty tomb. If you are looking for satisfaction- look to your attainable righteousness because of the cross and because of the tomb.

Quick Side Note: Matthew 5:6 is a super easy verse to learn! Take 47 seconds today to commit it to memory 🙂 (Psalm 119:11)

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

