A Shout Out to God!

Psalm 8

I think we can all agree that LIGHTNING BUGS are by far, the best insect on planet earth.

Most bugs freak me out. Stink Bugs? Eww. Spiders? Eek! Bees? Ahh! Centipedes? AHHHH! Cockroaches? WAAAAAHHHHH! All my hairs stand on end, my heart starts to pound, and I make a mad dash to the nearest flip-flop.

But lightning bugs? I have loved these little creatures of the night for as long as I can remember. Where I am from, there were two types of children when it came to dealing with fireflies. You either watched them with wonder in your eyes and a smile on your face as they lit up your gently cusped hands OR you smeared their glowing guts on the side of the nearest building. But no matter which way you showed your affection for them-it was clear, they were nothing to be afraid of!

And I was thinking the other night, how I would feel about these bugs if God had designed them a little differently? Can you imagine! What if they bit? Or they had a poisonous stinger? Or an annoying buzzing sound? Or they tried to crawl in your ear in the middle of the night and plant eggs in your brain?!

Okay…maybe that was a bit too much. I’m just saying, God was a very gracious, intelligent designer when he made these harmless glowing insects. And I for one, would just like to thank God for his kindness. Next time you catch one of these sweet creatures-you should thank him too.

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

