Good Morning Sluggard!

Ahh. Mornings with God. There is no better way to start the day! I have never regretted rising early and spending time with my Savior. My day always goes better when it starts with hearing from God. For some reason though, many times when I am drifting between the land of being asleep and being awake, I convince myself that my day will be more satisfying, more productive, and all around better, if I just get an extra 1/2 an hour of sleep. I definitely am not thinking my clearest in between snoozes if I think sleep is a better addition to my day than spending time with the God of the universe.

Prov. 26:14 “As a door turns on its hinges, so does a sluggard on his bed.”

Oh gee. This verse. I am quite the sluggard! Instead of popping out of my bed when I first hear my alarm go off, I push snooze until I am rushed and short on time. No time for the Lord. I mean, I may pray on my way to work, or listen to something Christian while I brush my teeth, but there’s no intimacy in the mornings. No intentionality. No showing my God that I love Him and value time with him. I do go through good seasons where I am disciplined enough to live by mantras like “No Bible, no breakfast!” or “I’d rather do my devos than do my makeup!” But far too many other days, pride and sluggardness trump my desire to be in the Word. Lame, I know.  But I also know that you are probably right here with me! You understand this battle too, right? You and I both need this reminder: We need to stay clear of our snooze buttons and train our body, mind, and spirits to rise each day in a timely manner to invest in our relationship with our King and Father.

“Do not have your concert first, and then tune your instrument afterwards. Begin the day with the Word of God and prayer, and get first of all into harmony with Him.”  – J. Hudson Taylor

One thought on “Good Morning Sluggard!

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

