Nothing Else Satisfies

At work yesterday, I brought some Iced Tea in for the office.  Mango Iced Tea to be precise. Mondays are our Pre-Registration days and are often times a bit hectic, so I thought some refreshing tea would be a nice addition to our day.

Though I know tea isn’t going to really refresh our team in the long run. Sure it’ll be nice to take a walk to the kitchen and have a minute of solitude to just drink, but it won’t really change anything. It’s a little blessing, absolutely, but the appointments will still come, the stresses of a packed schedule will still weigh heavy on the shoulders of many.

So knowing that many on my team were going to need more than a cold beverage to refresh them-I also sent a few verses that will encourage even the weariest of souls:

  • Jeremiah 31:25- “For I will satisfy the weary soul, and every languishing soul I will replenish.”
  • 2 Corinthians 5:18-21- “All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.  We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”
  • Matthew 11:28- “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”
  • Psalm 145:18- “The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.”
  •  Isaiah 40:29- “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.”
  •  Psalm 34:18-“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.”
  •  James 5:22- “As you know, we count as blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.”
  •  Psalm 139:1-3- “O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.”
  •  Jeremiah 31:3- “ The Lord appeared to him from far away. I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.”
  • Romans 8:38-39- “For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

I have found it to be true in my life, that FAR too often in moments of stress I look to other places/things/people to satisfy and calm my anxious heart. When I KNOW that turning to Scripture is what my soul needs, why oh why do I turn to anything but? I see this everywhere in the pages of my journal. It’s a question I constantly ask myself. Because I, like the Israelites in the Old Testament, constantly forget the magnitude of my God and believe the lie that something else can do what God can’t.

So first of all, find what you are running to. It looks different in every life. For some, it’s relationships. They seek a person’s approval/satisfaction/attention more than they seek the Lord’s. For others, they run to media. For hours they can turn their minds off and coast through Hulu, Pinterest, Netflix, or Facebook-not having to think about or address their current situation. Instead of running to their Savior, they may run to social events, food, alcohol, books, exercise, or sleep. Though none of these things are wrong in and of themselves, when they morph from being evidences of common grace to becoming an idol-there is a serious problem.

Once you’ve identified your idol of choice-STOP RUNNING TO IT. Know that when you reach for that romance novel to hide in, or prepare to run all your worries away-that first you must go to the pages of Scripture. Cling to the promises of peace you find there, knowing that only Christ will satisfy your heart.

It’s easy to get distracted.

But we don’t need more distracted Christians in this world.

We need active Christians who know, love, and live the Word of God.

2 thoughts on “Nothing Else Satisfies

  1. Wow. So good! I often find myself trying to find satisfaction in things other than God whether it’s approval from other people or indulging in entertainment or other things that are a waste of time. It’s to important to find our satisfaction in Christ alone and all of those other things that try to steal our attention and take our focus off of Him will slowly fade away.

    • You are definitely not alone Anna! It’s so easy for other things to steal our attention. But you are so right that when Christ is first, He becomes more beautiful/desirable and all else fades! Thanks for the comment 🙂

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

