Trust Me

So, here comes a more personal blog post, that I almost don’t want to share. But, I know that God specializes in working through pain. So I share my heartache with you today because I know that 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 is true. “ Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God”. So it looks like to me, if the Lord comforts me, and I do not use it to comfort others-I am being disobedient!

Here’s the short/fast story: I was dating someone for almost 2 years. He is the one my soul loves. We were struggling in some ways. Met with our pastor. He said, ‘break up or get married’. We weren’t ready to get married. So we broke up. Now, 3 months later, I am constantly asking the Lord, “what’s next”?  I am easily worried and anxious about what my future folds. I know the Lord is consistently reminding me, “Daughter, focus on me. I am the one who both holds your future, and IS your future. Trust me; yearn to understand my heart and mind.”

He brought to mind Peter’s story of walking on water found in Matthew 14. We all know it. Peter’s fears overwhelm him to the point where he takes his eyes off Christ and begins to sink. But, once he cries out to the Lord, Scripture tells us that IMMEDIATELY Christ reaches out to him.

Jesus doesn’t then tell Peter, that he had no reason to fear. He didn’t belittle the fact that there is a storm raging all around him and he is on uncharted waters. He does has reason to fear. So Christ’s response instead was, “Why do you doubt? “You can be scared; that makes sense. You don’t know what is going to happen, and many things could go wrong. Be scared, but trust me. Trust me because I’ve never let you down before. Trust me because I’ve proved to you time and time again that I’ve got your best in mind.”

After they get back on the boat, Matthew tells us that they worshiped Him declaring that Christ “truly is the Son of God”!  Saying that Christ is the Son of God means that all of his words and promises are true! He is  trustworthy; I have no reason to fear the future or doubt His plans since He is who He said He is! So when I am tempted to take my eyes off the person and work of Christ; when I am tempted to worry about all the varying unknowns and fears in my life-I need to strop. I must stop and WORSHIP; remembering WHO Christ is and why I can trust Him. He truly is he Son of God.

If you are on uncharted waters, in a state of limbo, and wondering what is next- remember that it’s okay to be scared. But what you must monitor is where your fears drive you. It can drive you to a doubting and cynical heart, or it can drive you to a faith-filled heart of worship. When you take the time to understand who Christ is, there is really only one possible outcome.

 

Spurgeon Quote

4 thoughts on “Trust Me

  1. Betty:
    Thanks so much for this post! I find myself in some uncharted waters from a career standpoint. Your reminder to keep our focus and heart tuned to Author and Finisher of our Faith is very timely. I pray that He gives you peace until such time as He chooses to reveal the shore where he wants you to land.
    John

    • Betty, I’s hard to even find the words to describe how GOD used your post to speak to my heart. Please don’t take my next statement as a “pat on the back” or patronizing in any way, but I am so proud of the woman GOD is molding you to be-and you are submitting to this process. It blesses my heart in ways I cannot express and want to encourage you to keep keeping on. Hang on tight and don’t ever let go because HE is the only one worth holding onto! All my love, Aunt Janet

      • Thank you so much Aunt Janet!! It is so neat to be able to look at where I am at and where I came from and know that it is ALL GOD! You know even more than most people what He rescued me from, and how intentional He was about drawing me to Himself through Karen and Bob 🙂 I love you so much and hope to see you soon 🙂

  2. John,

    Thank you so much for your encouragement and for your prayer! As I was reminded today, Oswald Chambers calls it the Graciousness of Uncertainty, and we should be thankful for this seasons in life!

    Blessings,
    Betty

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

