Peace Will Come

Here’s a little song I’ve been working on. It’s been really neat to see the lyrics transform over the months from bitterness to hope. Maybe one day I’ll show you the first draft!  It’s really neat to be able to see God’s grace permeate different areas of my life.  Enjoy!

(Oh, and by the way-the tune goes something like this: bum ba da dum da da dum da da dumm bum bum bum bummmm bummmm baaaa buummmm.” Just so you can know what it sounds like.)

Music

Fairy Tales or Fate

Verse 1:

Sometimes I sleep so peacefully.

Sometimes it’s not for days.

Sometimes I see my future crystal clear

But, most times it’s just a haze.

And thru every season,

And every trial

If you look straight through me

I’m still the girl with the batting, brown eyes and the crooked smile.

My crooked smile.

Verse 2

Sometimes I pray about tomorrow

Sometimes I pray straight thru today

Most things I ask for are black and white

Though this is oh so gray

And through every memory

Both good and wrong

If I look inside me

There’s still a reason to write, to play, and to a sing a new song.

Sing a new song.

Chorus:

I will not cling to fairy tales or fate

You allow some hardships

And that’s okay

I believe what your Word has to say

Obeying you cannot be a mistake

I can trust you with our breaking hearts

Knowing peace will come one day

Verse 3

Sometimes I sit on the sidewalk

Sometimes I run in the rain.

I’ve got joy, joy, joy down in my heart, but

I still know pain.

And through every hopeful night

And all my questioning

If I look up at my Elohim

You are the one who knows, permits, and redeems all things.

You redeem things.

I will not cling to fairy tales or fate

You allow some hardships

And that’s okay

I believe what your Word has to say

Obeying you cannot be a mistake

I can trust you with our breaking hearts

Knowing peace will come one day

*Modulation*

I will not cling to fairy tales or fate

You allow some hardships

And that’s okay

I believe what your Word has to say

Obeying you cannot be a mistake

I can trust you with this breaking heart

I trust you with this breaking heart

I trust you with my broken heart

Put my faith in your Sovereign grace

Knowing peace will come one day.

2 thoughts on “Peace Will Come

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

