Emotions and Speed Reading

God created emotions as a good thing, though they have been defaced by the fall and easily distorted by sin. It is through emotion that we can experience God’s presence and through emotion we are created in his image. Oh how God emotes! When our emotions are rooted deeply in the gospel and with eternity in mind, we are reflecting our savior! It’s only when we let them control us, get out of hand, or uproot them from the gospel when they turn from reflection of holiness to antithesis of holiness.

And now onto something completely different…speed read

My friend Marjorie likes to call Spiritual Disciplines “Means of Grace” because she thinks the word discipline has a negative connotation, and things like reading scripture, praying, and fasting, are privileges!  I am constantly reminded of how powerful the Word of the Lord truly is. Often times I forget, as I speed read through the Old and New Testaments trying to get through the Bible in a year so I can pat myself on my back and consider my devotional life “good” for the year. But I miss so much of what I could be gleaming! I don’t take time to meditate or really digest what is going on. What a foolish thing to do! How can it penetrate my heart and life, if I don’t even let it penetrate my mind? Colossians 3:16 tells us to let scripture lives in our hearts to make us wise, but I know at the pace I am currently reading, that cannot happen. So I have one of two options. I can either allow more time for my reading in the morning, so that I can truly digest what I am reading, or I need to lessen the quantity of Scripture each morning so more can soak in.

(p.s. I don’t know why, but I really like this little picture of flash reading!)

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

