I’m Afraid of the Dark…

Yep, I can admit it. I am scared of the dark at times. I’m fine most nights, but every once in a while, I’m about to drift off to La La Land and I start to think of the typical “hide under your sheets” kind of things. This got me thinking about light.

You walk into any child’s bedroom, what do you see? Toys on the floor, a soft blanket, a teddy bear, little socks and shoes, and what’s that in the corner? A nightlight of course! When designing a detailed floor plan, architects will install brighter lights for the hallways used most often for walking, knowing that people will following the most lit path. On road trips, if we have the option between driving down a dark alley, or a lit tunnel, we’ll choose the latter. We long for sunlight. We struggle with seasonal depression during the long winter months when we can’t spend as much time out in the sunlight. As humans, we are drawn to light in so many different ways. From a very early age, we inherently know that light, is good, and darkness is bad. It must be due to this inbred information and fact that “light” appears in such a wide variety of contexts all in cultures and times that many different writers, through the power of the Holy Spirit chose to use this term so prominently in Scripture. We see it in Matthew’s gospel only when quoting the messianic passage from Isaiah (Matt 4:13-16). Luke only uses the figure in the Song of Simeon (Luke 2:32), and John uses it, in like, every other verse. 

For some reason, this just makes me feel less lame, when I actually admit to people that yes, sometimes, I am afraid of the dark. 

I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!

